…or maybe more appropriately, I DON’T hunt like a girl

Just a quick follow-up to my last post…

We returned home from our whirlwind trip to Dad’s ranch last night. We met a blizzard on the way there, so the 8 hour trip turned into almost 10 hours. We made it through snow drifts a foot high on the interstate for the last 100 miles of the trip, and pulled into the ranch just shy of 3 am. I didn’t make it out of bed for the first hunt two hours later, but the guys came home empty-handed so I didn’t feel too bad about it. I did go out the rest of the day, but with temperatures in the single digits, I didn’t stray too far from the pick-up.

Actually, I didn’t even chamber a round over the weekend. Neither did Dan or my Dad. The only successful hunter in the group was Connor, the youngest son of my high school debate coach (and close family friend), Bob Speirs. Connor is 12 years old, and this year he scored his first deer tag. So this year, it was all about him. That was fine with the rest of us. We were just  happy to be together and content to send Dad to shoot a doe for meat when the weather warms up.

The weekend went by way too quickly, and by Sunday afternoon, we were packed up and headed out again. Next year we plan to give ourselves more time, and hopefully the weather will cooperate a little better. I was called a “fair weather hunter” this year when I didn’t even get out of the pickup after seeing three “shooter” Mule Deer bucks in our south pastures. I would have gotten out… but my feet were cold.  🙂  One of them would have been a trophy though! Hopefully he’ll survive the next week and be there next year.

Sunset on "Hall Draw", facing the river from the old house

Connor's first buck

Dan, Jack, Marybeth, Dad, and me, forcing smiles in the single-digit temperatures

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Samuel
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 15:41:43

    Slacker! haha

    I actually really like terrible weather on long road trips. Makes them more perilous and therefore, more fun. As long as I am driving.

    Wish I could be out there hunting in the chill. I got some damn fine boots, and I’m a good shot. Maybe I will take my sons out one day.

    Reply

  2. Eric
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 15:59:07

    If it means anything, most of the snow is already gone. It looks like it snowed just long enough to give you a classic SD hunting experience.

    Reply

  3. Eric
    Nov 21, 2011 @ 16:00:04

    Oh, and I really like this blog design. Very sleep and colorful. Kudos.

    Reply

  4. The O
    Dec 20, 2011 @ 17:28:59

    Ahhhh…. Those were the days, weren’t they? I miss it so much…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

