Soul Mate

I’ve often wondered, can you fall head-over-heels in love more than once in a lifetime? Or do you only have one shot at it? If you succeed in the relationship, you live blissfully ever after with your soul mate. But if the relationship doesn’t last, does it leave you too scarred to ever jump in head-first again? True love… Great Love… is like nothing else in the world. It’s adoring, cherishing, respecting, needing, wanting, craving, and maybe even obsessing over another person. They become as necessary to you and your life as the air you breathe. And when you lose that person, you aren’t broken. You’re shattered. After being shattered, are you ever whole again?

That’s a question I’ve asked myself for several years now. I was truly in love once. I was young and naive. He was handsome and fun. He walked through my walls. He understood me all the way to my core, and he liked what he saw. We bared our souls to each other; trusted each other with our lives. But he let me down… many times, in many small but important ways. He let his need for alcohol come before my need for him, and my disappointment in him eroded the incredible bond we shared until there was nothing left of it.

But that experience taught me what it meant to love. I think the majority of people don’t really know what it means. You can’t miss what you’ve never had. And most have never been able to sense their lover’s thoughts. Most can’t transfer emotions through a hug. Most don’t know what it means to be so emotionally, physically, and spiritually in tune with another person that you feel as if they were an extension of your own being. Most have never realized that they can no longer remember what their lover looks like… they can no longer see the person as others see them… because all they can see now is their lover’s soul… their light. I was blessed enough to know that feeling and to wonder if I was crazy as a result of it.

What I don’t know, however, is if that kind of love is healthy. It changes you, turns your life upside down, makes anything less seem dull in comparison. But maybe it’s not sustainable. Maybe a soul mate is meant to enter your life, stir the pot, and then exit. I’m still searching for the answer. Still searching for the one who will remain forever.

I hope we’re given second changes at Great Love.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. austin pottorff
    Feb 18, 2012 @ 15:58:05

    “I love you not only for what you are, but for what I am when I am with you. I love you not only for what you have made of yourself, but for what you are making of me. I love you for the part of me that you bring out.”
    Roy Croft

    Reply

Leave a Reply

